Outstanding Volunteers Honored

After a year’s hiatus, Vienna recently honored an extra-large crop of outstanding volunteers at the town’s annual Mayor’s Volunteer Recognition Reception. Mayor Linda Colbert invited her predecessor, Laurie DiRocco, to help preside over the event, which celebrated not only this year’s honorees but also ones who did not receive recognition in 2020, because that reception was canceled owing to the pandemic. Both mayors said the ceremony was one of their favorite town activities.

The 2020 honorees (and their nominators) were:

• Former Vienna Town Council member Carey Sienicki (Patty Hanley). • Christopher Leggett (Jim Brooke).

• Leigh Banducci, Michelle Kang, Michael Mulreany, Eileen Shaw, Marsha Kormandt, and Nancy Appler (Shepherd’s Center of Oakton-Vienna).

• Jim Robinson and Gwen Flanders (Amy Georgeadis of the Stroke Comeback Center).

• Lauren Kinard (Laura Schwartz).

• Naomi Hutchins (Rossana Cianciolo-Carney).

• Aidan Habibi and Aidan Shannon (Bob Zadeh of Vienna Youth Soccer).

• Erik and Tracy Swensson and family, Ray Daly and family, and Doug Francis (North East Vienna Citizens Association).

• Elizabeth DiFrancisco (Sara Roades, Carol Ward and Heather Romagnoli). The 2021 recipients (and their nominators) were:

• Christopher Leggett (Sean and Christy Toole).

• Brian Land and Susan Patton (Christina Caplan).

• Nicholas Montalto IV (Nicholas Montalto III).

• Georgia and Josephine Grana (Eilish Morley).

Source: Inside NOVA